Blind Football

The Sport

Blind Football, also known as blind football, is an adaptation of football for athletes with a vision impairment. The sport has been governed by the International Blind Sports Federation (IBSA) since 1996 and it is played with modified FIFA rules.

Blind football teams are made up of four outfield players and one goalkeeper.

Outfield players must be classified as completely blind (B1 category), which means they have very low visual acuity and/or no light perception, whilst the goalkeeper must be sighted or partially sighted (B2 or B3 category).

To ensure fair competition, all outfield players must wear eyeshades. Teams can also have off-field guides to assist them.

The ball makes a noise due to a sound system located inside that helps players orientate themselves. As a result, spectators must remain silent whilst watching the game until a goal is scored.

Blind football is played on a rectangular field that measures 40m long and 20m wide. The whole length of the pitch must be covered by kickboards to prevent the ball from going out of play.

The duration of the match is 30 minutes, divided into two 15-minute halves. Each team can request a one-minute time-out in each half. During the last two minutes of both halves, and in case of an extra time, the timekeeper must stop the clock for a free kick, kick-in, goal kick and corner kick. If a match is drawn after extra time, then like its 11-a-side version, penalties may decide the outcome.


Athletes who compete in Blind Football have a very low visual acuity and/ or no light perception (fully blind or nearly fully blind).

To ensure fair competition all players (except for the goalkeeper) must wear eyeshades. This classification applies to the vision impaired field players.

In addition, each team has a sighted, able-bodied goalkeeper, who does not need to undergo classification.

History and Paralympic Debut

It featured at the Paralympics for the first time at Athens 2004 and has been contested at every Games since. Brazil have won gold at every Games.

World Championships take place every four years in between the Paralympics.


Iran Blind Football

Blind Football for the first time was administered in 2006 and players represented Team Iran at

2007 Asia-Oceania Competitions in South Korea.

Currently, para athletes are under support of IRISFB which is member of the NPC to get support.



 Watch an introduction to Blind Football on Paralympic SportsA-Z: Blind Football